busy in a tizzy

I keep thinking that one day I’ll actually properly update and format this blog. And put some care into my writing. Maybe edit the content. Spruce up the ugly, boring theme and look of the blog.

But I can barely remember to update it at all, which comes first. I hope that by making it a regular habit– the content and form will follow. 

Or not. We’ll see.

+++

Woke up at 4:30am yesterday so that I could make Bulletproof coffee before hitting up CrossFit Transformation for a 6am WOD.

Thank goodness the WOD was relatively “easy” since bodies are still broken from 350 Burpee Sunday and Deck of Cards Saturday.

CFT Standard Warm-up and Mobility

Strength:
Back Squats
3 x 10
Heavy as Possible
Rest as needed between each set

WOD:
TABATA Row for Calories
Rest 1 min
TABATA Ab-Mat Sit-ups
Rest 1 min
TABATA Row for Calories
Rest 1 min
TABATA Ab-mat Sit-ups

The TABATA interval is 20 seconds of work followed by 10 seconds of rest for 8 intervals.
Score will be a combined total of both the rowing and Ab-mat Sit-Ups.

My score was 225. I crushed it on the second set of rows. My sit-ups faltered.

Back squat weight started at 65# and progressed to 85#. I def could’ve pushed harder for more weight, but form is paramount. Rather go lighter and do it correctly, you know?

Oh, thinking about signing up for this in the Womens’ Modified category. I can’t wait to start competing in CrossFit events!

+++

Got a massage last night at Massage Green Spa in St. Clair Shores (they have other locations– I know for sure there’s one in Birmingham). They have a great deal going on with 1-hr massages for $29.95. I get one a month at that price. I usually go to Greenleaf Bodywork in Ferndale– which is an awesome place– but they don’t have a deal running that is quite that sweet right now. And since I can’t finish my Christmas shopping or pay the rest of my monthly bills until I get paid Friday, cheaper is better.

+++

Massages are one of my all-time favorite things. In fact, if I could afford (time or money-wise) to go straight from one massage to another massage– I would. Daily. Highly recommend. 

+++

Christmas shopping is stressing me out. I live paycheck to paycheck and I’m usually tapped out by Tuesday or Wednesday of any given week. I’m heading to LA on Sunday to spend Christmas with my family out there and I have not even purchased one gift for either of my nieces. My nephew has a birthday a few days before Christmas and the gifts I got him can count for one or the other, but not both. Argh. 

+++

Excited to get to LA and see some of my friends there. I used to live in LA and sometimes it feels like going home, even though I was only there a handful of years in my 20s. 

 Anyway, meh– enough for today. Time to get on with my morning. 
 
+++
 
PS: I think I have a pistachio problem. Might need an intervention.

1 thought on “busy in a tizzy

Leave a comment