Run Like the Dickens!

Feeling rough after a late night of eating cookies and drinking wine with friends, then waking up at the butt crack of dawn to get to Holly, MI for a snowy, wet 10K. 

The race, Run Like the Dickens, was well-organized and a lot of fun. My friend Rachel and I ran together and gabbed the whole time and still stayed below a 10-minute average mile. We finished the race in 1:01:13 (9:52 avg), which was pretty dang good considering neither of us was running regularly or training for it. My goal is to reach a 9-min mile by Shamrock Shuffle time this spring, but I don’t plan to train particularly hard for it, it either.

Image

Me and Rachel, pre-race.

Image

Wet and snowy, but fun.

 

Image

Trying to beat that Christmas tree, unsuccessfully, at the finish. 😦

+++

Yesterday morning’s CrossFit workout was cool. The strength portion was particularly fun, especially the bench press, which is completely new to me. I had only bench pressed one other time, in July, at Geaux CrossFit in Baton Rouge, LA. I was only able to do 35# then. I easily did 65# yesterday and it was NOT my max.

Strength:

Every 45 sec for 7:30 (22) 2 Deadlifts @ 60% (I think I used 85#– goal was speed and form)

Benchpress 1×5 @ 85% 1×3 @ 90% 1×3 @ 95% 2×3 @ 100% (I don’t remember how we broke it down, but we started with the men’s bar–45# and ended at 65#. It was easy. Kind of excited.)

Conditioning:

10 minutes total time

Even minutes 15 Burpees

Odd minutes 3 Power Clean and Jerks at 80% (65#)

5 rounds of Burpees and 5 rounds of C&J’s (I didn’t have a score because I was never able to get 15 burpees in 1 min. I did 14, 14, 13, 13, 13)

+++

Have a scratchy throat and am exhausted. Picked B up from the airport, ate some Thai food and immediately napped. Napped for 2.5 hours. He’s still sleeping. I’m ready to go back to sleep.

Right now.

 

Good night.

Leave a Reply

