Going through the motions.

Eh. Last night’s CrossFit class was not my finest. You know, when you get there and before you even look at the schedule of events (the warm-up, the mobility stuff, the strength stuff, the WOD)– you know it’s not going to be your day.

Feel like every day I’m go-go-go from the time I wake up around 5-5:30am til I roll into the apartment (around 8-9pm lately), and zipping from one end of town to the other and back again. Even my commute to and from work is frustrating– 35-45 minutes no matter where I want to be. It shouldn’t be so tiring as nothing in my life is terribly difficult– just so little of my time seems to belong to ME. But I guess that’s just how it is when you’re a grown-up without a trust fund, you know? I definitely am not ready for offspring. I want to greedily hang on to my liberty for just awhile longer.

Things in the office have been kind of tiring, too. I am the first one in the office (unless my dad beats me there) and the last one to leave (unless my dad is putzing around)– and since someone just quit and I’ve taken on a large portion of her former responsibilities… it’s an adjustment. I’m busy from the time I walk in until the time I leave. It’s nice not to have time to be bored– but it’s also… tiring. It’s a long day of busy (not hard) work. And when I go to Los Angeles for a few days at the end of the month for the holiday– I’m going to have epic work load waiting for me when I return. I don’t know how I’ll catch up. So… also stressful.

Anyway, the workout. Last night. Long day. Not favorite.

Wednesdays are OLY days. Usually I like them, but like I said– last night I knew coming in that it was not going to be my night. My arms and shoulders were (are) smoked. My right wrist is tweaked (luckily am left-handed). Didn’t have my usual joie-de-vivre.

CFT Standard Warm-up & Mobility

Strength:
5 X 1
3 Position Snatch @ 65% (low to high) (*I used 45# to start)
Rest 60 seconds

5 X 1
3 Position Clean + 1 Push Jerk @ 70% (low to high) (65#)
Rest 60 seconds

4 X 3
3 Stop Snatch Pulls (heavier than last week) (65#)
Rest 45 seconds

4 X 5
Hang Clean Hi-Pulls – heavy ! (65#)
(BB should rise to chest height – elbows above bar)
Rest 45 sec.

We did some kind of lunge press with the barbell (35#) 3×5.

WOD: (other choice was to row 4 x 500m)
Run~
4 X 400m
Rest 2:1
>25 burpee penalty for every set that deviates +/- 5 sec. from the fastest set.
My times were: 2:27, 2:21, 2:19, 2:15. I did 50 burpees afterward.

*I would have chosen to row, but since I rowed in a similar workout last week– I was compelled to run. I knew I’d have at least 25 burpees since I always come out of the gate slow as molasses.

+++

Taking today off from workouts. Going to try my inept hand at baking paleo(ish) cookies with my friend, Meghan, tonight. Gods help us all that I don’t burn her apartment down.

Hoping for a better workout tomorrow (Friday). I will have to wake up 4:30am early again. And then it’s go-go-go!

Image

Intense and focused, at least there’s that. I got the crazy faces down.

+++

PS: Going to work on the aesthetics of my blog. It’s boring and my links section isn’t up-to-date and everything is wonky.

Leave a Reply

