Whoopsie Crumbs: Blog Update FAIL

Oh, heeeeeeeey, blog reader…

Sorry about the long absence. I got bored of blogging about my Paleo Challenge… also, I wasn’t being a great example of the Paleo Lifestyle– far too many cheats for my taste. I’m still somewhere in the 70-80% range, but was going to start feeling like a total asshole if I had to keep blogging every single thing I put into my mouth (…that’s what she said). Oh. And I’m lazy.

On a related note, got some folks on the paleo wagon & they’re far better at it than I am. They actually read the books I recommended on the topic, whereas I… merely own the books & plan to read them in entirety… one day.

I spent a third of my entire paycheck at Whole Foods & Trader Joe’s yesterday. I’m pretty sure that my checking account will be marginally in the red when my Amex automatic bill pay clears today or tomorrow, but at least I’ll have taken measures to assure food is in the fridge.

Too bad I also discovered a dress I really want from ModCloth.com. Quel dommage!

Still loving yoga, starting to hit up the gym regularly… still avoiding running like the plague. I think I psyched myself out. I’m going to have to get over that soon– I have races & events looming in the not-so-distant future.

+++

Reading Katherine Dunn’s Geek Love for book club and am really enjoying it.

Finished Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card and it was awesome.

Thanks to B, I’m now also obsessed with the tv series Angel— which I started watching in the middle of season 3, apropos of nothing… Am pretty sure David Boreanaz plays only one character ever. He’s lucky he’s good at it. I realize Agent Booth is Angel. Same person.

+++

By the way, I’m still awesome at breakfast scrambles– it tends to be my most paleo meal of the day. Today, for example, I made a big ol’ paleo breakfast: 2 pieces of bacon, 2-egg scramble w/ garlic, chopped shallots, scallions, spinach & mushrooms (all cooked in the bacon grease). A few raspberries & blueberries in a bit of coconut milk on the side. YUM! So freaking good.

3 thoughts on “Whoopsie Crumbs: Blog Update FAIL

  1. The Real Food Mama

    Its all good! I never ever really live 100% Paleo/Primal…probably not even 90%….but I think that the 80/20 rule is darn good to live by and its a million times better than what most people eat like! Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  2. Dalia M

    I’ve been enjoying your posts. Don’t feel bad about the cheese. I prefer the Primal approach which allows for more fats, coconut oil, cream, cheese, butter, whole milk strained yogurt (the carbohydrates in the milk are eaten by the bacteria and whatever is in the whey which is strained away. Even people who can’t tolerate milk usually do ok on most full fat dairy. Also, you might benefit from more coconut oil in your diet for satiety and the loads of energy you get from those medium chain fatty acids. I found a recipe for a “coffee creamer” on a paleo food blog that has helped me enormously. In a blender, add 2 cups unsweetened almond milk (Blue Diamond has a good one) or coconut milk, 1 egg yolk, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional). Blend until combined. Then add 3-4 tablespoons liquified coconut oil in a thin stream and continue to blend. Store it in the frig. The egg yolk emulsifies the oil so it doesn’t float to the top of your coffee. If you like it sweet, add a few drops of liquid Stevia. Give yourself a week to get used to it and then you may find you love it as I do.
    I’ve been doing a Primal/Paleo diet at about 90% since January 16 and have lost 8 pounds. Be patient; this will work for you!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

