You put WHAT in your coffee?

Butter.

I put butter in my coffee.
To clarify, I put high-quality, unsalted butter in my coffee (I like Kerrygold). And I don’t just plop it in the coffee, either– which would be weird, oily, and gross. I blend it with a proper blending tool (in my case, I use a Magic Bullet. Not a silver bullet which is an entirely different device…) for 10-20 seconds, until foamy. I’ve been doing this for nearly a year. I have only shrunk in size, by the way. I have more energy, can go longer without feeling hungry, and I don’t get the jitters. It’s also great as a pick-me-up before my AM workouts.

This butter coffee is known as Bulletproof Coffee and it will rock your world. Don’t knock it til you try it!

The other benefits aside, it tastes FREAKING AWESOME. I often put in a teaspoon of coconut oil (instead of the MCT oil that the Bulletproof Exec recommends), a drop of vanilla, and cinnamon. Sometimes I mix it up and put in a square of Lindt’s 99% Cocoa.

By the way, Lindt’s 99% Cocoa is pretty incredible. It’s surprisingly not bitter. It’s rich and creamy and all the things good chocolate should be. Who knew that chocolate that is more than 90% dark doesn’t have to taste like baking chocolate? It’s a revelation!

+++

Also, I’m now about 12 weeks into CrossFit and loving the shit out of it. I even have baby triceps!

Yesterday I attempted (a modified version of) “Fran”. Fran is the most well-known CrossFit work-out. It’s 21-15-9 thrusters and pullups. The elite athletes do it in, like,  2 minutes. It’s INSANE. I don’t know how they do it. It took me 3:40 just to do the first set of thrusters and I only had 55# on the bar. I also had to modify the pullups and use a green band. It took me 11:21. Ain’t no shame in my game– Fran is HARD!

Serious business. Also, GET THOSE ELBOWS UP!

2 thoughts on “You put WHAT in your coffee?

Leave a Reply

